Log in

Log in


The Linda Buchanan Award

Do you know someone who has made a difference?

Linda Buchanan

The Linda Buchanan Award is given to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of volunteer engagement. It is named after Linda Buchanan, a visionary of human capacity and a pursuer of community improvement. Linda served as a Village Councillor in Port Stanley and was the first recipient of the award in 1991. She inspired those around her to reach new heights and helped individuals realize their potential in their own unique way. Linda was a family person, a mentor and a friend to many people. She was a professional and above all, she was proud to be herself in a most natural way.

Just a short seven years after Linda was awarded for her contribution to volunteer administration, she was taken away from us in a tragic car accident. Earlier on in that fateful day she had been kite-flying with a number of volunteers. The activity of kite-flying is a fitting example of Linda’s zest for life, optimism and vision for new heights. To commemorate her lasting legacy, PAVRO renamed the Outstanding Administrator Award in her honour and memory.

Nominations are invited each year from our membership - a colleague who deserves this special recognition, an administrator who has inspired and mentored, someone who has strengthened the volunteer force in their organization or community.

The winner of each year's Award will serve on the Awards Selection Committee for the following year. Please Note: Nominees must hold current PAVRO memberships.

 The Linda Buchanan Award Nomination Form  

The 2024 nominations will close on March 11th, 2024

Join us in congratulating the recipient of the 2022 Linda Buchanan Award - Lynn Felker!   

Nominated by Erin Spink, Lynn Felker is the Community and Volunteer Engagement Coordinator with Stedman Community Hospice in Brantford.  A volunteer engagement professional for at least 14 years, Lynn is a strong advocate for the profession and has promoted the profession through a variety of means.  She is an excellent role model, a leader, and an advocate for the profession.  

Lynn is the President of the Brant Regional Association of Volunteer Administrators and with her leadership, BRAVA partnered with WEAVA last spring for an event that she co-facilitated.  She has also started a book club at BREAVA and engages the group in lively and necessary discussions, helping to mentor, guide, and inspire the membership to pursue excellence in VE within their organizations.

In addition to her involvement locally, Lynn is also an accomplished writer and speaker, presenting to other leaders of volunteers, especially on the topic of resilience, bringing a fresh and important voice to learn from.  Engage Journal published her article “Designing Volunteer Roles: The Ethics of Paid and Unpaid Work” in its January 2022 edition; her work has been referenced by Katie Campbell, former ED of the Council for Certification in Volunteer Administration.

As stated by Erin, “Lynn exemplifies exactly the kind of excellence that Linda Buchanan would appreciate.  She is smart, caring, and thinks and feels deeply about the value of the contributions that volunteers make.  She holds herself to the highest standards and is always pursuing new knowledge and ways to make things better and is one of the most enjoyable people I’ve worked with”.

Past recipients of the Linda Buchanan Award

1991 Linda Buchanan 2004 Alison Caird 2017 Erin Spink
1992 Marg Warriner 2005 Joan Cox  2018 Lorraine McGrattan 
1993 Lorraine Pollock 2006 Syrelle Bernstein  2019  Kathy Magee
1994 Carissa Urquhart 2007 Not awarded  2020  Charmaine Cades
1995 Nan Einarson 2008 Emanuela Gennaccaro Ducharme  2021  Adriane Beaudry
1996 Magda Rigo 2009 Anna Grenier  2022  Lynn Felker
1997 Marilyn MacKenzie 2010 Karen Sacke    
1998 Anthea Hoare 2011 Elizabeth Straiton    
1999 Colin Thacker 2012 Lori Gotlieb    
2000 Carol Anne Clarke 2013 Faiza Venzant    
2001 Doug Miron 2014  Michael Fliess    
2002 Beth Schroeder 2015 Loretta Turpin     
2003 Andrea Cohen 2016 Kathleen Douglass    

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software